Foster Cat Chats

Inside Buddy Foster's World

Reblog: My New Home

foster cat new home

My New Home

 

Because I have many new followers since the  early days  of my blog, I decided to reblog this post telling of my early life.

Finally I have a home.  A fur now home.  Not fur ever. Just fur now.

I am a foster cat.  And that’s just how things are.

My name is Buddy, and until I became a foster cat I lived in Corner Brook, Newfoundland with Mommy and Poppy.  I was so happy.  We were a one cat family.  Poppy fed me from his plate at dinner and Mommy used to scold him and say “You’ve spoiled him,” and they would both laugh and look at me with eyes full of love. I slept on the floor by their bed and in the morning I would wiggle my way under the covers and snuggle between the two of them.  That was the best time of day.

Then slowly things changed.  Poppy forgot my name and twice he shouted at me and I ran under the couch and hid.  Mommy would still pet me and kiss me but I wasn’t allowed in their bed.  Then Mommy fell and broke her leg and got a wooden one. How sad I was that I had four legs and Mommy only two and yet she was the one to break one.I would have given her one of mine if I could have. But then,  it would have been too short, wouldn’t it.

One day a lady came to the house with a carrier like the one I went to the vet in.  I don’t like going to the vet so I hid under the couch again.  Mommy caught me, and, surprisingly, she started to cry and kiss me and rub my fur.  Poppy did the same.  I thought I had unknowingly been a good cat. Then she gave me to the woman who put me in the carrier. Mommy kept crying and I felt sad so I meowed ‘Don’t worry, Mommy, I’ll go nicely to the vet with the lady and before you know it I’ll be back.”  How little we know.

We drove and drove, and when we stopped the lady took me into a house, but not my house.  It was noisy…….children shouting, dogs barking. And more important, no Mommy and Poppy.  I was put into a room all alone. Dogs were growling outside my door.   I hissed and wouldn’t come out of my cage. I bit the lady.  I hardly slept all night.

Next day I was taken to the vet and again I rebelled.  I knew this was not what Mommy and Poppy had in mind.  Perhaps I was being catnapped.  I heard words I had never heard before like “foster” and  “adopt” and “Alzheimer’s”.

I spent another night in the house with the dogs.  I wasn’t quite as upset now because I knew that they couldn’t reach me, and I knew that Mommy and Poppy would find me.  Next day I was taken on another long drive to another house.  Thank goodness it had no other animals and only one lady.  I was not barred in a room so I explored the entire house, scouting escape routes.  Apparently a man lived in this house too but he ignored me.  I am going to bed now in my own room.  More later.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

13 comments on “Reblog: My New Home

  1. Jennifer Kelland Perry
    February 23, 2019

    I love the way you’ve written this, Brenda. Hard to read Buddy’s backstory but he sure has a wonderful home now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • brendablagdon
      February 23, 2019

      His former mommy still contacts Judy at Central Paws , asking about him. Judy always lets me know and I send an update and recent photos which she shares with Former Mommy. I know that she loved Buddy as much as I do.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. nanasworldweb
    February 24, 2019

    Buddy Foster is so cute! I read through a few of your other posts so I could learn more about him. I loved Simon the gray cat’s post! I named my cat Foster because he was being fostered by my neighbors when he was 5 weeks old, and they tried to encourage me to foster him. I took one look at him and it was all over. He came across the street to his “forever home”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • brendablagdon
      February 24, 2019

      Foster is so cute. He reminds me of my cat Socks who died a few years ago. There is a post about Socks on Buddy’s blog. Foster, you are a very smart cat and I learned a lot about your whiskers. Did you know that they are called vibrissae? Buddy did a post about vibrrissae although he didn’t give all the information that you did. I’ll be sure to read more of your posts.

      Liked by 2 people

      • nanasworldweb
        February 24, 2019

        Actually now that you mention it, I do remember seeing that word in the articles I read. Foster and his stuffed animal Panda have a lot of posts together because I have them go on “adventures” around the world with the use of photo editing. They even “went” to Seattle to visit their blogging friends Tiger and Benji. 😀🐱🐼

        Liked by 1 person

      • brendablagdon
        February 24, 2019

        I will definitely have to read more of their posts. And I follow Susanne who, I think, is Tiger and Benji’s mommy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • nanasworldweb
        February 24, 2019

        Yes, she is. In fact I think I found your blog from the comments on hers. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    • brendablagdon
      February 24, 2019

      Simon is my grandcat. That rant really tells what he is like.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. msphoebecat
    February 27, 2019

    Awww Buddy I’m so sorry about what happened, sometimes no matter how much we are loved our humans love us so much they must make sad choices. You did nothing wrong, I hope you know that. I lived the first year of my life with a lady who loved me but her love of cats ended in her taking in too many strays and she couldn’t afford to care for us all. I was a baby of a stray, well loved but she knew I needed a home where I would be served in the way I deserved, as well as many others so she took us to a shelter where we could adopt humans. In just a few weeks I found one and adopted her! We’ve been together a little over a year and I have her wrapped around my paw, run the house and even have my own dog sister to boss around. My Mom says I’m a challenge, but an intelligent, sweet and amusing one! MOL!!
    I’m so happy you found your forever like I have, and this time it is forever.
    Purrs,
    Pearl

    Liked by 2 people

    • brendablagdon
      February 27, 2019

      Hi Pearl, I am very happy in my new home, and my former Mommy still asks about me. New mommy sends her pictures and updates. When My blog was more active two years ago, I had a guest blog feature in which my furry friends, even canine friends, told their stories. If I renew the feature, would you like to do a guest blog? I love to hear stories of other cat. (I just don’t like to meet other cats in person) LOL
      Purrs, Buddy

      Liked by 1 person

      • msphoebecat
        February 27, 2019

        I would be honored!

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you think of this post.

Information

This entry was posted on February 23, 2019 by in Buddy Foster and tagged , , .

I follow these blogs. Most are about fellow felines.

Follow Foster Cat Chats on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 167 other subscribers

Look at all the awards I’ve won!

The Versatile Blogger Award

Real Neat Blog Award

Sunshine Blogger Award

The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

One Lovely Blog Award

Pan Global Award

Liebster Award

Courses

seal_v2-03 Blogging U.
Jeff vaiphei blog

motivational

Xtreme RAW thoughts from Chelle ~ uncensored

I write from my soul. I don't know any other way to write. I focus on these genres - biographical, philosophical, commentary, romance, living with ADHD, having extreme anxiety and depression, being a victim of drug addiction and recovery and becoming a SURVIVOR OF ADDICTION, being a victim of Domestic Violence and becoming a SURVIVOR OF DV, and living through and SURVIVING Maternal Narcissistic abuse! Not too mention that I have the world's most AMAZING PARTNER that I write a lot about! I hope that through all my posts, you realize that YOU ARE NOT ALONE! There is someone who cares! God bless each of you! PLEASE LEAVE COMMENTS and FOLLOW ME! Thank you so much ...

The Alchemist's Studio

Raku pottery, vases, and gifts

Waking up on the Wrong Side of 50

Navigating the second half of my life

Hugh's Views & News  

WordPress & Blogging tips, flash fiction, photography and lots more!

Natalie Williams

Searching for my inner zen Blog

Winter1137's blog

Social anxiety, depression and a cat obsession. The fun never ends.

Really Real Blog

Is it Oversharing or Radical Vulnerability?

Beckie's Mental Mess

Mental Health Awareness ~*~ Negative to Positive Perspective ~*~ Creative Writing & Positive Vibes

gardeninacity

Notes from a wildlife-friendly cottage garden

Mental Health @ Home

A safe place to talk openly about mental health & illness

Lizzy's Literary Life (Volume One)

Celebrating the pleasures of a 21st century bookworm

Curious as a Cathy

Enjoying life through music, doodles, & pix

SHINE OF A LUCID BEING

Astral Lucid Music - Philosophy On Life, The Universe And Everything...

Reynoworld

For those looking to kill time between Frescas

Jennifer's Journal

Website & Blog of J. Kelland Perry, Author

Damsel in a Dress

A Funny Blog About Some Not So Funny Things

Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts...

JACKIE LEA SOMMERS

Author & Advocate

Zoe's 99 Days of Self Improvement

My journey to stop hating myself.

Bent But Not Breaking

By Ann Toscano

The Art of Cobwebs

aka The Cobweborium Emporium

Rach's life xoxo

make mental health your priority

yamarella

An armchair travel blog that takes you around the world.

Gary A Wilson Stories

A Dime of Time: Mostly 10 Minute Stories, Fiction and Memoirs

PsiHub

A Hub where we discuss Psychiatry and everything mental health related!

Eclipsed Words

Aspire To Inspire

Anxiety and Liz

Sufferer of anxiety, depression and emetophobia. Romance Author, Mental Health Advocate and Avid Upcycler.

Live Life, Be Happy

Welcome to my weekly blog on life's happiness. We are all human and we all deserve to smile. Click a blog title or scroll down. Thanks for stopping by.

Ziel Translation

Not really about translations anymore...

Fluffy Kitten Party

body positivity. fat activism. cats.

Ailish Sinclair

Stories and photos from Scotland

Fighting for a Future

Supporting Survivors of Childhood Abuse and Complex PTSD

Nana's Whimsical World

Because Whimsical Always Makes You Feel Better!

AfterGlow

Life after loss

The Psych Talk

Discussing All Things Psychological...

Poems and Petals

Because poetry. And petals.

Aergia's Daughter

Living, Laughing, and Learning with Depression