Foster Cat Chats

Inside Buddy Foster's World

The Doggie Dozen: Clara ,the Newfoundland Dog from Fogo Island

 

Featured Image -- 3562

Hi Everyone.  This is the  first post as part of a new feature, The Doggie Dozen.  I am thrilled that our introductory post is by a fabulous dog named Clara. Clara lives on an island in the north  Atlantic Ocean but she will tell you all about that. I think Clara and I could be friends if we met.  Perhaps some day.

 

 

 

 

1. What kind of dog are you? A mutt or a special breed? Boy or girl?

My name is Clara. I am a spayed female Newfoundland dog (no babies for me). My breed means I’m big. I weigh about 120 pounds or so, and I’m tall – nobody has to bend down to pet me, my head is at a nice height for anybody to just come along and give me a pat. I love people. A lot. A good part of my 120 pounds is fur – I have lots and lots of fur. Which sometimes sheds as mega dust-bunnies in the house so my mom has to vacuum a lot. My dust-bunnies are bigger than most cats!

clara10

This is me in a snowstorm – snow likes to stick to my fur.  I love winter.

2. How old are you and do you feel your age?

I’m 12 years old. That’s human years of course. Apparently that would be about 84 years old translated as dog years. And yep, mostly I do feel that old. My hips kind of hurt so I don’t run a whole lot any more, just a little bit when we go on our walks down the road. But I’m young at heart and very lovable. Kind of like a big teddy bear.

3. Where do you live and do you like it there?

I live in Seldom Come By on Fogo Island, at the end of Burnt Point road by the lighthouse. I go for a walk by the lighthouse with my mom and my doggie sister everyday. I love living here. The air smells good, the breeze always brings interesting smells. Like the smell of the caribou hiding in the trees. Or the fox down the road. Or the neighbour’s cat.

4. I know you have a doggie sibling. Do you get along?

Yep, that’s my doggie sister Lily. She’s okay but she can be a bit annoying and sometimes I have to keep her in line when she’s too close to the brand new bag of dog food, or to the piece of meat on the counter top. But I kind of like having her around mostly. Don’t tell her that though.

 

clara40

This is me with a couple of my Newf friends.  You will notice that all three of us are completely dumbfounded by my sister, the dumb Lab, who wants to run back and forth to chase a ball over and over and over again. Silly goofball that she is.

5. What are your favourite fun things to do?

Hmmm, the most fun thing for me is to hang out with my people, to lie around, and to sleep. And I like it when humans come to visit. I like to pose for pictures with tourists sometimes because they always pet me. Lots of people from elsewhere don’t see Newf dogs very often so they like to meet me and take pictures.

clara3

This is me when I went snowshoeing with my mom.  I love winter.

 

6. If you were a cat, what would you like to be called, dignified name and everyday name?

Oh, that’s a hard question. I think I would be called Muffin. My mom calls me that sometimes now but it seems like too small a name for a big dog, but maybe it would be a good cat name. A more dignified version – hmmmm, perhaps Muffinna Bella.

7. Are you friends with any cats and what do you think of cats in general?

Alas I have no cat friends. Mostly because I think Lily would chase them away – she’s kind of intrigued by the cat across the road. I think if Lily wasn’t here then the cat would be happy to visit me. I think cats are just fine. I think all critters are just fine. I’d be happy to be friends with any critter. It’s just that I like humans best.

 

8. Cats stay away from cars. Why do dogs chase them?

God knows! I can’t figure that one out myself. I think dogs who chase cars are crazy. I think dogs who chase anything are crazy. It requires far to much energy to chase anything – cats, cars, or throw toys.

9. Are you like the doggies next door who bark and bark when outdoors? Why do dogs do that?

Nope I don’t bark much, and again I have no idea why dogs would want to bark non stop like that. Silly things. At doggie classes when I was just a youngster, I remember hearing that dogs bark because they are bored. Frankly I don’t know why anyone would have a pet dog and then leave it outside to bark all day anyway. Dogs should be with their people. I do bark when someone knocks at the door. I’m kind of like a doorbell. Then I stop because I’m far too excited and happy to visit with the person than to spend time barking at them. Occasionally I will bark at very large things. Like moose or giant birds. Once when I was young my mom took me on a walk in Crowsnest Pass, Alberta, and there is a huge crow sculpture at the end of town. I admit it kind of freaked me out. I barked. A bit. And then I hid behind my mom. Or at least I tried to.

10. I hear that dogs have to have baths in tubs or with hoses. Yuck. I do my own cleaning and grooming. How about you?

Yep, I occasionally have a bath or hose down. I prefer to swim when possible though, but my mom isn’t convinced that I smell any better after a swim in the ocean. I do a bit of cleaning myself but not a lot. Can you imagine the hairballs I’d have to cough up!

11. I am Mommy’s guard cat. Do you have a special job?

My special job is to keep the floor warm and to look cute. And to love my mom and dad unconditionally. I love them I love them I love them I love them I love them I love them. That is my job – to love them.

Clara1

This is me  standing beside my mom’s chair trying to get her to pet me. Or feed me. Or both.

12. My mommy is retired. She spends a lot of time working on my blog and her own and volunteering. What does your mommy do?

My mom is a really great and really cool artist. She has cool artist friends too who visit sometimes. Right now she’s making a museum. I’d go and hang out with her there but because it’s attached to my dad’s coffee shop I can’t. For some stupid reason dogs aren’t allowed in human food places. Just dumb, that is. Otherwise I could sleep on the floor there and keep her company when she was working to get things set up.

Fogo Island is a special place. It is part of the province of Newfoundland and Labrador, and it is one of the four corners of the earth according to the Flat Earth Society.  Clara’s mom has been responsible for establishing the Museum of the Flat Earth on the island.  See link below.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I'd love to hear what you think of this post.

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2016 by in Guest Blog and tagged , , , , .

I follow these blogs. Most are about fellow felines.

Follow Foster Cat Chats on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Look at all the awards I’ve won!

The Versatile Blogger Award

Real Neat Blog Award

Sunshine Blogger Award

The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

One Lovely Blog Award

Pan Global Award

Liebster Award

Courses

seal_v2-03 Blogging U.
angelswhisper2011

Me and my Granny

LIFE OF A CAT

Morrisson

Chirpy Cats

Your Cat's World, Enriched, Inspired.

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

The Laurenest

books + reviews + writing + photography + travel

Violet's Delights

Happiness is not a destination, but a manner of travelling.

Three Chatty Cats

All things cat rescue and awareness!

Cats Working

Where cats think...talk...and type...

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

A cat, a book and a bowl of soup

Two cats and plenty of random ramblings!

Animals are Wonderful

A great WordPress.com site

BulgingButtons

Not bad for a fat girl

Iamabloggertoo

It'z Shilpa blogging randomly

Creative Crafts DIY

Crafting is the best medicine

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Ellie Maloney

Jalapeño Fiction

UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

A Writing Life for Me

Learning the Writer's Craft

mini2z

Journey with me ...

Flotsam and Jetsam

Writing it down

The Oddest Inkling

An exploration of the works of poet Charles Williams (1886-1945)

daniaqamarblog

Writer's Ensemble

A Wayward Scribblez

"To be yourself is the greatest success because for this you need to face the toughest battle ever."

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

A State of Mind

History, Travel, Discovery

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

Catherine's Cultural Wednesdays

Get out and see extraordinary things

Views from the Edge

Departure from Collective Madness

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

bookscrazyanagha

To unveil the love for magic hidden in every heart...cherishing the passion of writing, perhaps more important than breathing.

Art Is Not For Sissies

All about my obsessions with art and cats.

Word Jazz

A celebration of linguistic creativity

wonderfulwordsblog

Where words and wonder weld

Be Book Smart

"A BOOK IS A DREAM THAT YOU HOLD IN YOUR HAND" - NEIL GAIMAN

Gallimaufry

A collection of various things: hodgepodge, mishmash, variety

Liz Wyatt Photography

A place to share my photography projects

Living with Carnivores

A vegetarian human's adventure with cats

The Grinning Empress

Living Like the Empress; Embracing ART, MUSIC, and all the LIFE inbetween

Angel's Life

Angel's Eyes - Persian on Facebook

CATalog. Phantom's Cat Blog.

My life with my humans.

OPALFLAME

Creative Expression Through Poetry and Other Artistic Mediums

