Foster Cat Chats

Inside Buddy Foster's World

Guest Post Thursday: Amelia, A Touching Story of Friendship

Today’s Guest Post is by Amelia, a stray cat who has found a home and friends.  It tells a touching story of a friendship between a cat and a dog.  I liked the story as I am beginning to have doggies on my blog.  Amelia’s mommy has a blog called One Sunny Place. You can visit it here.
My sister and I were both looking for places to call our home ever since our feline mother weaned us, so we traveled together. One early summer morning, we were outside playing when a lady and her dog came walking by.  The dog, Shiloh, seemed fascinated by us.  My sister was cautious, as she’d heard from other strays that dogs and cats don’t usually get along. For whatever reason, the lady let her dog check us out. We touched noses, and I could tell that we’d be friends from the start.

Every day, I would come out to see Shiloh when she and her human companion took their walks.  My sister still wasn’t too keen on them, but she followed along with me anyway. Even as I grew, we still remained friends. My sister had found a place where she thought we would fit in, so we went there for a while. But I missed my new canine buddy, as she gave me kisses and played with me almost as if she wanted to take me into her little family. I went one day to find her and got lost for a few days, and then I found my sister. I stayed with my sister and some of our cat buddies for a while, but it just wasn’t the same. Finally, it was clear that my sister had found her home and planned to stay.  I had to find that dog and her human. That’s where I belonged.

Amelia

Amelia

After a few days went by, I found her scent along a road I used to travel. I was getting warmer to finding them. Then, I saw them out walking.  Shiloh saw me and ran toward me.  She’d been looking for me, too! We played, rubbed noses, head-bonked, and buddy-bumped each other. She invited me to come visit her. I found lots of nice places to play, rest, and duck in from the rain, wind, and snow. Shiloh’s human “mom” gave me a name–Amelia.  I like that name. And she has a knack for finding treats and food that I like, as well as for finding Shiloh her favorites.

I get to walk with them now and spend time with both of them, and my new “mom” has learned how to pick me up and hold me; at first she didn’t know if I’d like that or not. And she loves it when I chirp and when I nudge and gently knead her shoulder while she holds me! (She says she’s never heard a cat chirp before–got her hooked!) And of course, Shiloh and I are still buddies.  But she lets me know in a hurry not to mess with her snack bowl!

Occasionally, my sister shows up in the neighborhood to see if I’m all right.  But I’m good.  And I let the other strays know that I’ve found my place, my best friend, and my family!
20150720_094106

Shiloh and Amelia, Forever Friends

 

Photos by Robin Fry

7 comments on “Guest Post Thursday: Amelia, A Touching Story of Friendship

  1. Robin
    March 24, 2016

    Brenda (and Buddy, of course!)–You did terrific with this post! I love it–the layout, the intro, everything! Thanks so much for contacting me this morning to let me know that the post was up. Amelia and Shiloh are both taking their afternoon siestas at the moment. Thank you again!

    Like

  2. carolfromthecove
    March 24, 2016

    Amelia is such an awesome name….tread softly and meow gently.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Foster Cat Chats Nominated for Liebster award | Foster Cat Chats

  4. Robin
    May 13, 2016

    Reblogged this on * One Sunny Place * and commented:
    Back in March, I–along with my cat, Amelia–had a guest post appear on Foster Cat Chats. I enjoy how Brenda, along with her cat Buddy, writes from the feline perspective–a very refreshing read for those who appreciate cats in any way.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think of this post.

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2016 by in Guest Blog and tagged , , , , .

I follow these blogs. Most are about fellow felines.

Follow Foster Cat Chats on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Look at all the awards I’ve won!

The Versatile Blogger Award

Real Neat Blog Award

Sunshine Blogger Award

The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

One Lovely Blog Award

Pan Global Award

Liebster Award

Courses

seal_v2-03 Blogging U.
Me and my Granny

angelswhisper2011

LIFE OF A CAT

Morrisson

Chirpy Cats

Your Cat's World, Enriched, Inspired. Helping cats live enriched lives with their people.

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

The Laurenest

books + reviews + writing + photography + travel

Violet's Delights

Happiness is not a destination, but a manner of travelling.

Three Chatty Cats

All things cat rescue and awareness!

Cats Working

Where cats think...talk...and type...

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

A cat, a book and a bowl of soup

Two cats and plenty of random ramblings!

Animals are Wonderful

A great WordPress.com site

BulgingButtons

Not bad for a fat girl

Iamabloggertoo

Clickety-Clacks, Words that Splash and Chitter-Chatters on the track !

Creative Crafts DIY

Crafting is the best medicine

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Ellie Maloney

Writer, Collector of Typewriters & Shoes

UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

A Writing Life for Me

Learning the Writer's Craft

mini2z

Journey with me ...

Flotsam and Jetsam

Writing it down

The Oddest Inkling

An exploration of the works of poet Charles Williams (1886-1945)

daniaqamarblog

Writer's Ensemble

A Wayward Scribblez

"To be yourself is the greatest success because for this you need to face the toughest battle ever."

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

A State of Mind

History, Travel, Discovery

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

Catherine's Cultural Wednesdays

Family Travel, Arts and Culture and London Life

Views from the Edge

Departure from Collective Madness

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

bookscrazyanagha

To unveil the love for magic hidden in every heart...cherishing the passion of writing, perhaps more important than breathing.

Art Is Not For Sissies

All about my obsessions with art and cats.

Word Jazz

A celebration of linguistic creativity

wonderfulwordsblog

Where words and wonder weld

Be Book Smart

"A BOOK IS A DREAM THAT YOU HOLD IN YOUR HAND" - NEIL GAIMAN

Gallimaufry

A collection of various things: hodgepodge, mishmash, variety

Liz Wyatt Photography

A place to share my photography projects

Living with Carnivores

A vegetarian human's adventure with cats

The Grinning Empress

Living Like the Empress; Embracing ART, MUSIC, and all the LIFE inbetween

Angel's Life

Angel's Eyes - Persian on Facebook

CATalog. Phantom's Cat Blog.

My life with my humans.

OPALFLAME

Creative Expression Through Poetry and Other Artistic Mediums

