Foster Cat Chats

Inside Buddy Foster's World

“They Say I Have Diabetes.” Beau Lloyd: Diabetic Cat Extraordinaire

 I am pleased to welcome Beau Lloyd to Guest Post Thursday. Beau, or Beau Beau as he is sometimes called, has a special story to tell.  He begins today to tell us about  his life, and will hopefully visit us again.

Hi. I’m Beau. Beau Lloyd. My people call me Beau Beau. I don’t like it, but I can’t get that across to them. They say it and I stare at them. Big, long stares, into their little people souls. They don’t get it. Anyway, on to the whole point of this little piece.

beau

Those people, they say I have diabetes. I’m not really exactly sure what that is, but I do know that since they have been saying that word,  I have been getting things poked into me every few hours. I’ve also started to feel better, so I will put up with the pokes and prods for now.

You see, about three years ago this month I was so thirsty – I couldn’t get enough water. I would lick the bathtub after my people took baths; I would even drink out of the white litter box they sit on. And another thing- I couldn’t stop using my litter box. My people would have to scoop my litter a few times a day to keep up with me. Oh, and I felt yucky…. I was dizzy, I didn’t want to eat my food, I lost weight, and I would cry a lot. Overall I was miserable.

One day my people put me in that cage (it’s awful in there, I scream and cry and hiss), and brought me to  ‘the vet’. This vet looked at me and poked me with sharp things. Something was said about blood sugar and glucose and insulin. The number 32 was brought up. Apparently  ‘the vet’ says this is a very high number and he would like it to be more like 4 or 6. They brought me home, again in the torturous cage. (This time I peed in it just to let them know, again, that I despise it in there). From that day on life has been different.

IMG_1080

My people used to put some dry food in my bowl and just fill it when it was empty. It was good. I liked it. But now- meow, oh, meow- I get wet food! All different kinds and flavours. At first they fed me just one kind, but then I got bored of it, so I stopped eating… they didn’t think that was good. So now, it’s like a fantastic surprise every time I jump up on my table to eat.  Will it be grilled or pate? Turkey or beef?

casey

Table to eat you say?  Yes… you see I have this little fur brother, Casey. He is a canine. He sleeps most of the day, except when food is involved. He likes to try to eat my food. My people are smart (sometimes) and they put my food on a table so he cannot get it.

It is especially important since the word diabetes has been said about me. You see, if my people think I eat, but the canine Casey gets it before me, I could get very sick. It’s all because of those needles.

IMG_1083

 

Yes, I said it, Needles! Two each day. One in the morning when my people have just woken up from their sleep (well actually I wake them up several times throughout the night by chasing their toes, crying in the dark, and snoring. That canine Casey- he Is even worse.  He isn’t even sophisticated enough to use a liter box and insists on going outside to do his business through the night.

 

The other one is In the evening, right after they put those two things they call ‘children’ in their beds to be quiet. (Ahhh, the peace once they are in their beds).

siblines

The needles go in my back, right up by my neck. I don’t mind. To tell you the truth, if my people are rushed, and they forget- I make sure I tell them they forgot.  I rub my neck against their hands and cry at the basement (where my food is) until they remember. It usually doesn’t take them too long.

I’m tired, time for a cat nap. I will write again soon about the in’s and out’s of this thing they call diabetes- moments of low blood sugar, what happens when my people leave the house for a long time….There has been so much to learn and experience.

Also, a shout out to Buddy Foster Blagdon for allowing me to take up space on the World Wide Web. (He’s my 1st cousin once removed, you know!)

IMG_1077

Note from Beau’s People:

Beau (Beau Beau) Lloyd is a black and white, short haired, indoor cat. He was adopted in Ottawa, Ontario 12 years ago, as a kitten. Beau has moved many times with his people. He currently resides in Torbay, Newfoundland with his loving family: Mom- Jane, Dad- Matt, and siblings –Casey (canine, 10), Charlotte (human, 6), Spencer (human, 2), and 3 fish, all named Bubbles. Beau was diagnosed with feline diabetes in February of 2013, and as he has let you know, he receives insulin injections to help regulate his blood sugar levels. Beau enjoys cat nip, baby slippers, napping and attempting to escape the house.

5 comments on ““They Say I Have Diabetes.” Beau Lloyd: Diabetic Cat Extraordinaire

  1. Osyth
    January 14, 2016

    Hello Beau Beau Lloyd … I’m so glad your humans have got your condition under control. And it sounds as though you have the household (canines, kids and all) under your control!

    Like

  2. Pan
    January 14, 2016

    I think Beau shows enormous restraint with his ppl poking him twice a day.. Good cat Beau 👍

    Like

  3. carolfromthecove
    January 15, 2016

    So considerate of you Buddy to allow Beau Beau to tell his story.

    Like

  4. brendablagdon
    January 15, 2016

    I am a very considerate cat. Mommy says I am a good kitty.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Dressophile Your Cat: Vote For your Favourite Slightly Dressed Cat | Foster Cat Chats

I'd love to hear what you think of this post.

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2016 by in Beau Lloyd, Guest Blog and tagged , , , , .

I follow these blogs. Most are about fellow felines.

Follow Foster Cat Chats on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 368 other followers

Look at all the awards I’ve won!

The Versatile Blogger Award

Real Neat Blog Award

Sunshine Blogger Award

The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

One Lovely Blog Award

Pan Global Award

Liebster Award

Courses

seal_v2-03 Blogging U.
angelswhisper2011

Me and my Granny

LIFE OF A CAT

Morrisson

Chirpy Cats

Your Cat's World, Enriched, Inspired.

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

The Laurenest

books + reviews + writing + photography + travel

Violet's Delights

Happiness is not a destination, but a manner of travelling.

Three Chatty Cats

Just another WordPress.com site

Cats Working

Where cats think...talk...and type...

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

A cat, a book and a bowl of soup

Two cats and plenty of random ramblings!

Animals are Wonderful

A great WordPress.com site

BulgingButtons

Not bad for a fat girl

Iamabloggertoo

It'z Shilpa blogging randomly

Creative Crafts DIY

Crafting is the best medicine

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Ellie Maloney

Jalapeño Fiction

UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

A Writing Life for Me

Learning the Writer's Craft

mini2z

Journey with me ...

Flotsam and Jetsam

Writing it down

The Oddest Inkling

An exploration of the works of poet Charles Williams (1886-1945)

daniaqamarblog

Writer's Ensemble

A Wayward Scribblez

"To be yourself is the greatest success because for this you need to face the toughest battle ever."

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

A State of Mind

History, Travel, Discovery

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

Catherine's Cultural Wednesdays

Get out and see extraordinary things

Views from the Edge

Departure from Collective Madness

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

bookscrazyanagha

To unveil the love for magic hidden in every heart...cherishing the passion of writing, perhaps more important than breathing.

Art Is Not For Sissies

All about my obsessions with art and cats.

Word Jazz

A celebration of linguistic creativity

wonderfulwordsblog

Where words and wonder weld

Be Book Smart

"A BOOK IS A DREAM THAT YOU HOLD IN YOUR HAND" - NEIL GAIMAN

Gallimaufry

A collection of various things: hodgepodge, mishmash, variety

Liz Wyatt Photography

A place to share my photography projects

Living with Carnivores

A vegetarian human's adventure with cats

The Grinning Empress

Living Like the Empress; Embracing ART, MUSIC, and all the LIFE inbetween

Angel's Life

Angel's Eyes - Persian on Facebook

CATalog. Phantom's Cat Blog.

My life with my humans.

OPALFLAME

Creative Expression Through Poetry and Other Artistic Mediums

