Foster Cat Chats

Inside Buddy Foster's World

A Blog by Any Other Name

 

A rose by any other name may smell as sweet but with blogs, names are important.

 

Buddy with rose

You may know that Mommy and the man recently adopted me, and that means that I have to change some things about my blog. My name is remaining Buddy Foster but I am now adding Blagdon to it.  So I am Buddy Foster Blagdon.  That means I can keep my blog title Foster Cat Chats but the Foster will now refer to my middle name and not my status.  I am now a big F Foster cat, not a small f foster cat.

However my tagline will have to be altered. My blog will now be about me, not a series of foster cats, so my tagline has been changed to Inside Buddy Foster’s World.

The blog will now be  mine and mine alone.  As I do not interact well with other kitties Mommy will not be able to foster other cats.

I have been thinking of how I can improve Foster Cat Chats. In addition to guest posts, Sundays with Simon and Sammie, and reblogs of  Mondays with Buddy, I will do more posts on cat care and cat humour.

2016 should be a great year.  Keep reading.

12 comments on “A Blog by Any Other Name

  1. Pan
    January 4, 2016

    Tagline is awesome !!! I want to do a link on my site prefaced with..
    Who is Buddy Foster ?
    If you appeove and can instruct me on how to set up a link in my blog..

    Liked by 1 person

    • brendablagdon
      January 4, 2016

      Okay, let’s see. First go to Buddy’s blog post, A blog by Any Other Name, and copy the url in the address bar on top of the page. It should start with https:// . Then go to your blog post and highlight the text you want linked to Buddy’s page. maybe you want Who is Buddy Foster to be the link so if so highlight that. Then go above to the box with tools and select the one that looks like a chain link. A new box will open and where it says url, right click and select paste. The url you copied will appear there. Then click add link. You will return to your post and the words “Who is Buddy Foster” will now be a link to his page. It may seem complicated but once you’ve done it a few times there’s nothing to it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Pan
        January 5, 2016

        Awesome that I can make Who is Buddy Foster ? the actual link.. But I was wanting to post it on my homepage, either to the left or right of my content.. Just sitting there on its own begging the curious cats to click..
        Is what I want to do possible ?
        I’m very blog/tech naive..
        My homepage is a static page, if that matters in this case..

        Like

  2. brendablagdon
    January 5, 2016

    Let me think about it and get back to you. Do you want to link to his home page or to a particular post?

    Like

  3. brendablagdon
    January 5, 2016

    What theme do you use?

    Like

    • Pan
      January 6, 2016

      I use Edin.. and I want to link to A Blog by any other Name, its purrrrfect for the Who is Buddy Foster ? link.. I think that it might be irresistible.. remember Where’s Waldo ?
      I’m not saying it will become a trend or fad.. But it’s a hook for the curiously curious..

      Like

      • Pan
        January 6, 2016

        I’ve got another idea that I’m stirring around in my head.. and if I go that way then what you’ve given me so far should enable me to set it up.. but it’ll probably take me a few days or maybe a week.. I have to find the downtime to venture into the scary admin section, where danger and fear of losing posts and menus lurks behind every click 😨

        Like

      • brendablagdon
        January 6, 2016

        You are so funny.

        Liked by 1 person

      • brendablagdon
        January 6, 2016

        Okay. I know how to do it. I tried it on my own site. Do you know how to get to your dashboard?

        Like

  4. brendablagdon
    January 7, 2016

    Hi Pan, I haven’t forgotten you. I did what you wanted with Who is Buddy Foster? on my own site. It took a while to discover how to do it. I hope this works for you.
    Go to The post you want (A Blog by Any Other Name ) and copy the URL from the address bar. Then go to your own blog’s dashboard. Choose Links. Then choose Link Categories. Under name I put Buddy Foster. You could put Attention. Look at This. Whatever. For description you don’t need anything if you don’t want to. I put in All Things Buddy. Then choose Add New Link Category. Then go Back to Link Symbol again and choose Add New. Under name Put in Who is Buddy Foster? Under web Address, right click and paste the address you got from my site. You don’t really need to fill in description. Scroll down and under Categories check Buddy Foster. Go up to top right and click Add Link. Then go to appearance, Customize, Widgets, Then choose sidebar or footer, whever you want this to appear on your page. If you don’t have a widget called links in the list shown, go to add widget and click link. Where it says select link category choose Buddy Foster.
    Under Sort By click Link Title. You can next click Show Link Name. Number of Links you probably don’t have to fill in. Up top press save and publish. Done!!

    It seems complicated but I realize now that it isn’t. It just takes practice.

    If you have any problem at any stage let me know. I want this to work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pan
      January 11, 2016

      I think the problem with customized links for me is because I’m doing this all on my android phone.. It has shown limitations before.. I even went to support and followed the instructions the best I could and it just wouldn’t take.. it kept throwing me into the clipboard..

      Like

  5. Pan
    January 11, 2016

    Woo Hooooooo ! It worked !!! (mostly)
    I linked from my page to yours.. it only took about 12 hrs.. 😬 but I couldn’t change the link to read as I wanted..

    You have an award waiting for you that requires nothing other than knowing you earned it.. And its the only award that matters.. in my mind anyhow 😁
    You have the Pan Global Award.. Congratulations !
    Now I hope I can remember the link steps for the few other elite bloggers that have earned this award as well.. You will find your blog link in the Award page.. I think.. I hope its still in my menu.. 😨

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think of this post.

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2016 by in Buddy Foster and tagged , , .

I follow these blogs. Most are about fellow felines.

Follow Foster Cat Chats on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Look at all the awards I’ve won!

The Versatile Blogger Award

Real Neat Blog Award

Sunshine Blogger Award

The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

One Lovely Blog Award

Pan Global Award

Liebster Award

Courses

seal_v2-03 Blogging U.
angelswhisper2011

Me and my Granny

LIFE OF A CAT

Morrisson

Chirpy Cats

Your Cat's World, Enriched, Inspired.

dineandrhymeblog.com/

a blog that combines food & poetry mixed with vlogging

The Laurenest

books + reviews + writing + photography + travel

Violet's Delights

Happiness is not a destination, but a manner of travelling.

Three Chatty Cats

All things cat rescue and awareness!

Cats Working

Where cats think...talk...and type...

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

Bailey Boat Cat

Adventures of a feline afloat!

A cat, a book and a bowl of soup

Two cats and plenty of random ramblings!

Animals are Wonderful

A great WordPress.com site

BulgingButtons

Not bad for a fat girl

Iamabloggertoo

It'z Shilpa blogging randomly

Creative Crafts DIY

Crafting is the best medicine

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Ellie Maloney

Jalapeño Fiction

UniBookworm

Topnotch uppage corner =)

A Writing Life for Me

Learning the Writer's Craft

mini2z

Journey with me ...

Flotsam and Jetsam

Writing it down

The Oddest Inkling

An exploration of the works of poet Charles Williams (1886-1945)

daniaqamarblog

Writer's Ensemble

A Wayward Scribblez

"To be yourself is the greatest success because for this you need to face the toughest battle ever."

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

A State of Mind

History, Travel, Discovery

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

Catherine's Cultural Wednesdays

Get out and see extraordinary things

Views from the Edge

Departure from Collective Madness

Cafe Book Bean

Talk Books. Drink Coffee.

bookscrazyanagha

To unveil the love for magic hidden in every heart...cherishing the passion of writing, perhaps more important than breathing.

Art Is Not For Sissies

All about my obsessions with art and cats.

Word Jazz

A celebration of linguistic creativity

wonderfulwordsblog

Where words and wonder weld

Be Book Smart

"A BOOK IS A DREAM THAT YOU HOLD IN YOUR HAND" - NEIL GAIMAN

Gallimaufry

A collection of various things: hodgepodge, mishmash, variety

Liz Wyatt Photography

A place to share my photography projects

Living with Carnivores

A vegetarian human's adventure with cats

The Grinning Empress

Living Like the Empress; Embracing ART, MUSIC, and all the LIFE inbetween

Angel's Life

Angel's Eyes - Persian on Facebook

CATalog. Phantom's Cat Blog.

My life with my humans.

OPALFLAME

Creative Expression Through Poetry and Other Artistic Mediums

